.

Fourth of July Preview: Fireworks Shows Abound in Putnam, Westchester

The skies will light up in honor of Independence Day, with festivities starting this weekend.

Summer is finally here, and tons of folks across the country are preparing to celebrate our nation's birthday.

Although the Town of Southeast will not host fireworks this Independence Day, there are plenty of places in the region to see those colorful "booms" light up the sky.

Check out the list below for fireworks and fun close to home, and be sure to tell us in the comments section below if we've missed a show.

 

Concert and Fireworks at Peekskill’s Riverfront Green Park

When/Where: 7 p.m. Wednesday, July 4/ at Hudson Avenue and Route 9 in Peekskill

Details: Blues and funk band Black Dirt will play a concert at before the fireworks are set off.

Price:  Free

 

Fanfare and Fireworks at Kensico Dam Plaza Music Fest

When/Where:  Tuesday night/ in Valhalla

Details:  Pre-concert entertainment begins at 6, the Bensen-Scott Big Band takes the stage at 8 p.m. and fireworks will follow at approximately 9:15. Commemorate Independence Day,with rousing American patriotic music followed by a spectacular fireworks display, presented by Westchester County Parks.

Price:  Free (admission and parking; carpooling is suggested, as is bringing lawn chairs or blankets for seating)

 

Great American Concert and Picnic in Garrison

When/Where: 5 p.m. Monday/Boscobel House and Gardens (1601 Route 9D in Garrison)

Details: Celebrate the U.S.A.  Pack your picnic, blankets and chairs and get into the patriotic spirit on Boscobel's great lawn overlooking the West Point Military Academy and the Hudson River, one of America’s most historic and inspirational vistas. Start your celebrations early with a picnic and outdoor concert overlooking the Hudson River. Enjoy patriotic tunes with family

Price:  $16 (includes picnic, concert, and parking; children 12 and younger are free)

 

Independence Day Fair at John Jay Homestead

When/Where: 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday/ in Katonah

Details: Join Friends of John Jay Homestead and the Rotary Club of Bedford-Armonk for a celebration of America's founding at the Independence Day Fair. Bring your family for the reading of the Declaration of Independence and sign a copy. Family fun includes sheep herding, bee keeping and blacksmith demonstrations, crafts, hayrides, games, live music, log cutting and plenty of food from the grill. Enter a pie for the apple pie contest!

Price: Free (for admission to grounds and reading are free; food, house tours and some special activities are available by ticket purchase)

 

Pops, Patriots & Fireworks

When/Where: 8 p.m. Wednesday/Venetian Theater at  in Bedford

Details: Michael Barrett leads the Orchestra of St. Luke’s in the music of George Gershwin. Some of his greatest works, the Rhapsody in Blue, performed by John Musto, and hit songs sung by Darius DeHaas and Carla Jablonski will complete the patriotic preparations for the pyrotechnic fireworks to follow.

Price: Tickets are $30, $40, $50, $60 and $70 (children younger than 16 are half price)

 

Rye Playland Fireworks

When/Where: 9:30 p.m. Wednesday/Rye Playland

Details: Come enjoy rides during the day and an exciting fireworks show choreographed to music. The fireworks will continue every Wednesday and Friday at 9:15pm through August 31st.

Price:  Fireworks are free

 

Somers Celebration

When/Where: 8 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. Saturday/Reis Park in Somers

Details: Day includes the 4rd Annual Lynn Adams Memorial 5k run & 1 mile walk & talk-a-thon, opening ceremonies, famous Lions barbeque, annual Taste of Somers, Wright Reis Homestead Tours, SYSO all-star games, children’s & family games, waterslide, entertainment and music.

Open to Somers residents and their guests only, For further information please contact the Recreation Office at 232-8441

 

Town of Lewisboro Fireworks Spectacular

When/Where: 7 p.m. Saturday/ (Fields 3, 4 and 5)

Details: It is a family night of entertainment and fireworks with Annie and the Natural Wonder Band and Detour at 8 p.m.  At dusk the fireworks begin.  Picknicking, blankets, chairs are welcome, and food and drinks will be sold.

Price: $20 per car (designated parking begins at 5 p.m.)

Micheal June 29, 2012 at 11:24 AM
It's a shame that Southeast won't be hosting a July 4th celebration this year. My friends and family,personal and BFD/PLFD always had a great time getting together there. I understand why there is none this year. Maybe a collection put together for a full year could offset the budget for it ?
Ashley Tarr (Editor) June 29, 2012 at 12:15 PM
Hi Michael. Thanks for commenting. I think I get what you're saying — starting a collection now for 2013's July 4 fireworks?
Peter Carey June 29, 2012 at 12:31 PM
The Town is not doing fireworks but it was my understanding that the show was privately funded the last two years. Is that show on for July th or is S/E one of the town with no fireworks at all this year. Which is disgraceful in my opinion if that is the case!
Ashley Tarr (Editor) June 29, 2012 at 12:45 PM
Hi Peter. Thanks for the question. Last year the show was privately funded: http://patch.com/A-jP3j. I have not heard of any fireworks—privately or publicly funded—for Southeast this year.
Melissa V June 29, 2012 at 11:44 PM
As much as I love the Southeast Fireworks, I'm grateful the Town is trying to be fiscally responsible. There are plenty of other places to view fireworks. If it is important to you, have a party or a fundraiser to collect $$ and donate fireworks for next year.
bob cullen June 30, 2012 at 12:10 AM
Danbury fireworks are July 3rd at the mall at 9 and I believe tomorrow at candlewood lake. both nice shows close to southeast
Michael J van Buskirk June 30, 2012 at 12:56 AM
Hey bob my family voted for you and we are terribly disappointed that se will not be having the fireworks this year. we pay enough taxes, and the town keeps taking away from our kids ( Easter Egg Hunt which is now sponsered by FBC, the Ragamuffin Parade, Wells day camp closed, Pool closed in Markel Park and talk about reducing hours at the Library and Tonnetta Lake and also the family day at the lake and the concession stand) It is a shame that you even suggest Danbury for the Fireworks. What about our Town. We are the only ones in the area not celebrating the 4th. Where is all the tax money going that the residents of SE pay. Michael rights helped fund last years Fireworks celebration, What does Tony Hay think about that. All we see from the town board meetings is more cost cutting at the exspense of the community and our children. not to mention discussing cutting the health care of our town employees. Absolutely shameful
Peter Carey June 30, 2012 at 03:55 AM
Michael. The library is separate entity from the Town with its own budget. We have increased our hours due to the generosity of the s/e taxpayers who voted a reasonable budget which allowed this and we may even be able to update or expand portions of the library over the next few years. The town did reclaim a trailer they owned but was used by the friends of the library to help the library financially (which was a major reason we were able to stay afloat the last few years). I aw wondering why the town did not look fr a fireworks sponsor like ey got with the Easter egg hunt. I guess there wasn't, enough time. They should start earlier next year and maybe we can reclaim our tradition.
Peter Carey June 30, 2012 at 03:59 AM
My neighbors here in the Milltown section have been shooting off fireworks the last few evenings. Perhaps I should ask them to save it for Wednesday night and all do it at once. Lol
Denise L June 30, 2012 at 01:43 PM
Years ago we also had a carnival in Brewster...You see where im going with this?? When things are gone in southeast, They are gone for good. They blame it on money but i dont think thats the truth..If Dutchess county can afford it Putnam should beable to..Give me a break!! Just another thing left to memory around here..
Denise L June 30, 2012 at 01:50 PM
I agree...Nothing to live here for anymore..Nomore small town goodness!! I miss Brewster as it was...Carnival, Street fair, october fests now the fireworks all gone...sad
Denise L June 30, 2012 at 01:53 PM
Just like the carnival, the fireworks im sure are gone for good.Thats it folks all that was good in southeast is gone.Sad.
Caroline June 30, 2012 at 04:48 PM
no pool, no wells camp, no easter bunny, no ragamuffin parade, no fireworks. I'm disappointed from the supervisor down. Did anyone look into getting sponsors for these activities? no one wants to give back to our town?
Ashley Tarr (Editor) July 03, 2012 at 08:01 PM
Thanks for all the comments, everyone. Here's an update: The following message appears in red on the Town's website (http://www.townofsoutheast-ny.com): "The Town of Southeast will not be sponsoring 4th of July Fireworks this year but looks to resume this event next year."
EG July 04, 2012 at 11:40 PM
Maybe the members on the Town board including the supervisor need to take pay cuts ... if the town can not afford fireworks that's understandable but if things are that tight then pay cuts are in order; that's what would happen in a private company until things get better
Floopjack July 05, 2012 at 12:31 AM
Actually, it's not what ever happens in a private company. VERY rarely do a company's officers take a pay cut - they just lay off the people who desperately need the job and are working at or below the poverty level. Also, since the fireworks were privately funded in the past, it's likely that said private funds have dried up. In typical Southeast fashion, of course, there was no clear communication until the last minute. In truth, though, my dog and I are thrilled that this year there's no third rate fireworks display happening within earshot, as well as typically being precluded by the worst DJ in America. Happy 4th!
Southeaster July 05, 2012 at 03:06 AM
I hadn't heard that Southeast was discontinuing a Fourth of July tradition that has delighted families since the mid-'80s and showed up on Rt. 22 as always, only to find people leaving. Michael van Buskirk is correct. The town board decided that a fireworks display was "unaffordable" last year, and it was only due to the generosity of Michael Rights and local businesses he recruited as sponsors that it was funded. But residents of the town voted out Rights and voted in board members who apparently prefer to use our tax dollars for themselves and their special interests than for us, the people who pay them. I'm deeply disappointed that the board did not seek sponsorship to give Southeast the celebration it deserves. It really shows where their interests lie, and it's not with the people they serve.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »