.

Guest Column: New Restaurant Review

Resident raves over chef's specials.

Welcome back to Southeast-Brewster Patch's (SBP) business feature. This week's installment is a preview of sorts on Las Mañanitas Mexican restaurant (located at 1250 Route 22 in Southeast), which will open within the next few weeks, according to owner Luis Sanchez.

The following was submitted by Ray Ruyack, president and treasurer of the Putnam County Independent Business Alliance.

Disclaimer: The opinions contained herein are solely mine. I’m no food critic but I know what I like and what I don’t.

Monday night, the last night of winter 2011/2012 at 75 degrees, found us outside on the veranda having grilled quesádos, fresh salsa and freshly made guacamole. Five stars on that.

The interior of the restaurant is magnificent, with hand-made wooded table tops (black walnut trim?). Mexican décor abounds with new tile and other “south of the border” treatments. October’s storm took a few trees down towards the Southeast enhancing the already spectacular views of the reservoir and its surroundings. I think I studied the front door for five minutes looking at the woodwork.

The chef had a change of menu from buffet style to single plates showcasing some excellent Mexican specialties. Black beans and onions, shrimp (Veracruz?), chicken in a perfectly done molé sauce (reconstituted ancho chilies with chocolate are just some of the ingredients) preceded by a verdant salad had everyone smiling.

Margheritas were on the rocks and done right. If you stayed a bit, more chips and guacamole were brought out to go with the "after meeting” margheritas.

Service was excellent as it always is at his other location. Granted, the place wasn’t at capacity, but knowing Luis and his staff, the way things flow at I can’t imagine it would ever be a problem.

The restaurant is not yet open to the public — it should be with 1-2 weeks. This was a private dinner for members and guests of the Putnam County Independent Business Alliance, an organization dedicated to empowering local businesses throughout Putnam County, www.PCIBA.org.

I give it five stars out of five. 

— Ray Ruyack

Beth Blanck April 18, 2012 at 04:03 PM
Hi, just wondering if there was an updates on what date they will be opening? Can't wait! Thank you!
Meagan Riley April 26, 2012 at 06:20 PM
Hey Beth, this place opened a few days ago. Luis did a great job (as always) and the food is great. Little more expensive than Fiesta, but worth it for a great view and supporting local businesses. I'm glad someone in the Brewster area put thought into a restaurant and didn't settle for mediocrity.
Ashley Tarr (Editor) April 26, 2012 at 07:56 PM
Meagan, you beat me to it! Thanks for the information! I actually stopped in yesterday and the restaurant is open indeed! Can't wait to try it.
Dana Haviland April 29, 2012 at 11:51 AM
We went to Las Mananitas last night; I guess they've been open for about a week and a half at this point. Service was appalling - disorganized, panicked, many staff members overworked, many more just standing around looking shell-shocked. At long last one of the owners approached our table and took drink orders: never looked at us. Drink arrived some time later, and our meal order was taken. In less than 3 minutes, the food arrived. Less Than 3 Minutes. This is highly suspicious to me, i.e. food already prepped, and just heated to bring to tableside. Again, no eye contact, food just set down in front of us. The food was, admittedly, tasty. The wait for the bill was interminable, and when we FINALLY got it, the owner came with it, complaining about the computer system, how he was so stressed out, and how he knows how to run a restaurant. I have never run a restaurant. But nor have I ever (1) been made to feel so completely unwelcome, and (2) been the recipient of a tirade from a restauranteur about how difficult his evening has been. We probably won't ever come back. The only person who would read this as good news is their overworked valet, who was trying to handle an overabundance of cars in an inadequate parking space. Notably, he was the ONLY person there who smiled at us. He got the best monetary tip; the owner's tip should be to get OUT of the dining room, because he's driving customers away. Dana Haviland, Brewster NY
Ashley Tarr (Editor) April 30, 2012 at 03:38 PM
Sorry to hear your experience wasn't a great one, Dana. Anyone else give Las Mañanitas a try this weekend?
ATJ May 04, 2012 at 07:05 PM
Yes Luis did have a computer problem, his new system failed him and he is just very open and honest, sorry you didn't like that about him. First of all I never judge a place when they first open, wait till all the kinks are worked out and go back next month and try, by than you probably wouldn;t be able to get a seat it's so great. I love the place, food is great , drinks are great and they are all very nice people and very hard working, at least someone isn't afraid to open a GOOD place in Brewster ! Cheer to them.
ATJ May 04, 2012 at 07:07 PM
Oh and the BEST Guacamole around, a must try!
Ashley Tarr (Editor) May 04, 2012 at 09:32 PM
Thanks for weighing in, ATJ! I used to work in restaurants — could be crazy enough even without just opening! I'm looking forward to trying it.
Lisa Doll May 05, 2012 at 11:00 PM
I didnt find there service food drinks or everything good. The wait on food for us was an hour on a week day. There was few ppl too. Maybe10 when we were there. The only Mexican restaurant that I've liked is in downtown Brewster. Its called La Guadalupana
Cindy G June 22, 2012 at 01:57 AM
Las Mañanitas review: Food: DELISH Service: Not 1 unfriendly or unhospitable employee when our party of 7 were there Ambiance: Awesome genuine authentic Mexican decor. Not over done or tacky either. Classy. THE BEST PART WAS THE MILLION DOLLAR VIEW of the RESEVOIR. All I can say is BREATHTAKING!!! I mean, a bunch of us were talking about how perfect the view was for getting engaged, or for a romantic anniversary. That's how beautiful this view was!!! I can only assume the disgruntled reviews above must be by a competitor. There is no way customers could walk out unhappy here!!! We ALL gave it 5 stars and we ALL will go back!!!
MICHAELLE July 08, 2012 at 03:06 PM
you forget about zayra she work so hard at both places luis and zayra did a GREAT JOB

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something